Another year, what to hope for?

01Jan09
A Boom Boom Boom by Asmunder (Flickr Creative Commons)

A Boom Boom Boom by Asmunder (Flickr Creative Commons)

We were talking, last night, t’o-m and me (as you do), and inevitably we marvelled at the speed with which last year shot past, and then we started talking about the year to come, hopes, predictions, fears.

I asked him what he hoped for, in the coming year. He looked a bit puzzled, scratched his head, and finally came up with: “I hope I don’t fall off my bike.”

That’s it?

I was gobsmacked.

It got me thinking. Does he have so little imagination or ambition, that he can’t come up with anything better than that?!

Durrrrr.

Or, looking at it from an alternative viewpoint, does it mean that he’s perfectly content with what he has, and wants nothing more for it to continue as is.

Yes, the latter.

That’s even more astonishing. I dream and plan and scheme and fritter my life away in hopes and fears and wishes and horses, trying to find a way to bake my own particular cake and eat it too, and yet still be blind to what I do have.

His comment was a timely reminder that actually, stasis is not necessarily a bad thing, and that what we do have is something to be cherished and protected.

So, my primary hope for this year is that he doesn’t fall off his bike.

Bicycle by YuvalH (Flickr Creative Commons)
Bicycle by YuvalH (Flickr Creative Commons)

I’m sure there will be more later, but that will do for now.

No Responses Yet to “Another year, what to hope for?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

