wordpower

11Jan09

I’m a huge fan of Christine Kane’s blog – what she has to say makes so much sense on so many levels, so her “resolution revolution” model seemed an absolutely perfect way to frame my intentions for the year ahead.

She says that “The reason most resolutions don’t work is that they address only one level of your life. The DO level. It’s the DO-HAVE-BE model. “I will DO this thing.” (i.e., Lose weight) “So I can HAVE this other thing” (Self-Esteem) and I can BE this thing. (Confident.)

The average New Year’s Resolution doesn’t address the core of the issue – the “BE” level.

The best order for creating positive changes in your life is the BE-DO-HAVE model. This means you start from the BE level. When you begin changing on the BE level of your life, then the DO level and the HAVE level follow more easily.

When you start only on the DO level, then all the blocks on the BE level will often become the obstacles you can’t overcome.”

She says that if you pick a simple, powerful word and carry it with you for the year, then it will resonate through everything that you do and help bring you into that state of “BEING” from which you will HAVE and DO what you need to maintain it.

There’s a huge list of suggestions over on her blog, or you can come up with some yourself. (Actually, from a writerly perspective, it struck me how much power there is/can be in a word, but that’s a whole other topic).

It’s so simple, and works so well (last year, my word was ‘Survive”, and I did 😉 ) as a motivator and as a focus for where your priorities really lie that I am just astounded and inspired. All my targets and goals for the year have come out of the two words I chose for myself for this year:

COMPLETE

This is purely and simply driven out of two areas. The multiple half-finished projects that litter my life – I have so many MS that are unfinished, so many different things I wanted to try, half-started, never completed, picked up and dropped, and they were all cluttering up my mind. By making a decision to ‘complete’, I have reviewed those things and identified a number of projects/schemes/activities that I’ve started and not finished and been through a prioritisation scheme on them. There are a fair number where I’ve purely and simply said – do you know what? I’ve done as much as I want to and learnt as much as I need to about that from that activity, and now it’s finished. Being able to close those things off and finally set them aside is incredibly liberating, and has helped me focus on those things that I want and need to do to help myself feel ‘complete’ – in terms of my writing, my creativity and in terms of my personal development. It is both powerful and liberating.

ENJOY

is my second word. And that’s to remind me that no matter how driven and focussed I am on the things *I* want to do and *I* want to achieve, that to keep my sights fixed firmly on the finishing line is to deprive myself of any number of joys in the present. For example, yesterday I wanted to rush through the housework so I could get to a point where I could sit and have a cuppa tea and play with Bellaboo. But when I was putting a wash on, she appeared, in a huge to-do-ment, needing my attention. Normally, I would have got irritated and frustrated, but by reminding myself of the word ‘enjoy’, the whole situation turned around, and we both had a huge amount of fun as she “helped” by stuffing clothes into the washing machine. If I hadn’t been focussed on that word, then I would have missed out on that opportunity to share the moment with her, and to fully live in it.

When I combine the two together, they, to me, bring in a state of mindfulness, a reminder that the task/activity is worthy in itself, that it is worth making the effort to COMPLETE, so that it is finished and done to the best of my ability, for its own sake, because it has a value and a meaning that goes beyond the mechanics of doing. And to ENJOY that task/activity is to further appreciate it, because then that value and meaning is recognised and understood, given a coherence and pleasure that goes beyond a simple tick-the-box attitude to moving from one point in time to another, helping me to live more fully in the present.

I am so inspired, that I am planning a pair of simple embroideries on old linen that I can hang on the wall to remind me what it is that I am doing this year. I will enjoy completing them.

What are your words?

One Response to “wordpower”


  1. 1 End of Quarter 2 – Progress Report « A Mingled Yarn

Leave a Reply

