Goals Jan week 2

11Jan10

All my plans are pretty much subject to weather disruption at the moment, but I’m trying to be very British about it all, stiff upper lip, keep calm & carry on, and all that

Writing
1) Write up crit for Silver Griffin circle
2) 4 scenes on SERE
3) Read through the Dean Wesley Smith blog series “Killing the Sacred Cows in Publishing”

4) Post to blog

Textile Arts
1) Work on SOA project
2) Post Honey’s tudor costume project to Wardrobe Refashion and Magpies blog
3) Planning/marketing strategy work

Personal
1) 4 x exercise sessions
2) Dig out the infected carrot fly bed
3) Measure up the loft and get it down on a scale plan
4) Pack for Honey’s school trip (and deal with the fact she’s going to be away for 3 days)

And, above all, try to get back to some sort of normal (take #2)

3 Responses to “Goals Jan week 2”

  1. 1 Erin

    Good luck with the goals! Do let me know what you think of the blog series.

    I’m really looking forward to seeing the pics of the costume.

    • I read them through this evening …. I think I’ll need to go back and have another go, because there’s only so much mind-blowing I can take in one day 🙂

      It’s quite a lot to take in – turning a lot of what I thought/believed on its head, and whilst I straight out agreed with some of it (e.g. book-as-event), I’m not sure I can quite get my head around the no-rewrites edict …. but but I’m not sure if that’s just because I have so many stories stuck in my edit cycle (and have spent so much time on those edits to date) that I’m not sure I can accept they’re a waste of time, or if I do disagree with him. I guess it’s easier for him to say write-and-send because he’s done so much ‘practice’ he knows what does and doesn’t work straight off and/or has got to the point where the ‘story’ is so clear to him from get-go that he knows it works without having to think it through … though, that said, there’s the re-drafts for those that don’t quite hit the mark.

      I’m thinking that I’ll carry on as I am through the next novel and go through the HTRYN course, and then see how I’m stacking up, but I might just go for that level of bravery on the short story front ….

      I definitely, though, do need time to incorporate all those revolutionary ideas into my way of thinking and writing.

  2. 3 Erin

    I think his comments on editing and rewriting struck a chord with me. Yes, I agree with you — I think a certain amount of critting, rewriting, and learning how to put things together is necessary *first*.

    However, of the two stories I sold to Hadley Rille anthologies, one was a two-draft and the other a three-draft story (in his parlance). My novella from last year was, essentially, a two draft redrafting of a short story into a novella. I’ve since gotten a crit & not touched it — because the comments would require essentially redrafting it again to recast all the characters. So I was heading down that road before I read his advice, anyway.

    He also mentioned he’s a putter-inner. Which I am, too. My current edits of Witchy Woman are, essentially, adding in sub-plots that were hinted at but not explored in enough detail to provide depth to the book. The difference is that he notices these things and edits as he goes along to add them. Yeah, something else we’re all told we shouldn’t do.

    As Kipling had it, “There are nine and sixty ways of constructing tribal lays, / And every single one of them is right!”

    Good luck sorting out what is right for you — which may well depend on the individual project.


Leave a Reply

