March Review

04Apr10

It’s been a funny old month – been feeling down and tired for a lot of it, not helped by screwing my back up and losing a week or so in the process.

Writing
2 ) Finish STALKER edits and sub for critiques by the middle of Mar – deferred, because the Anneth revisions/HTRYN was way higher priority, and I needed to allocate much more time than I first thought to the course. Poor planning on my part, and it’ll have implications for the rest of the year.
3 ) Use HTRYN to revise ANNETH and prepare for submission by the end of April AUGUST – changed the end date to reflect a more realistic end date for HTRYN. It’s had a knock on effect on everything else, so I’ve dropped pretty much everything else except writing the new novel – SPIDERS (WT) – for this year.

Depressing, but I’d rather do the job properly.

7 ) Complete and post 1 crit per quarter for TNC – posted crit for ‘Out of Service’
8 ) Complete and post 3 crits per month for Silver Griffin/Manic Medley – falling behind again – only 1 crit posted this month
9 ) Submit 1 (new) short story to a paying market every month – keeping all the current stories out there, but not adding anything else into the pile (yet)
10 ) Post to my blog at least once every week – I seem to go in fits and starts on this … overall, I’m probably just about on track
11 ) Read at least 12 books and post a review to my blog for each book read – read Susan Cooper’s ‘Dark is Rising’ sequence, and Peter Brett’s ‘Desert Spear’ this month. Posted review of the latter to the blog, haven’t done the former, yet

Textiles
a ) Maintain and develop relationships with the galleries, and identify/approach/gain 2 new market openings – nothing further this month
b ) Submit a piece to the Surrey Open Art Competition (by end of Feb) – done, but unsuccessfully 😦
c ) Do two craft fairs – one summer and one Christmas – working to build up stock for a craft fair in May
d ) Update website, keep it and the blog up-to-date – more or less on track with this, though the blog tends to lag behind on the priorities, as the actual ‘doing’ is so much more fun

Personal
i ) Keep working on reducing my BMI – sensible eating plus 4 exercise sessions per week to hit a BMI of 22 by the end of the year. – on track
ii ) Reorganise and redecorate the loft space we use as an office/workspace/spare room by the end of Feb – still ongoing, but the bulk of the work is done … now it’s just below-the-surface decluttering and streamlining to be done
iii ) Grow as much of our own fruit and veg as humanly possible – that makes for a pretty busy planting season March – May in progress. a little behind on the planting schedule, but not so far as it’ll make a significant difference

I’ve felt pretty focussed on my goals this month, and have had to accept that (as always) I can’t do everything that I want. Doing my back in threw me out, and Bella’s sleep patterns have gone haywire so she’s been up most nights, which hasn’t helped – I operate at a certain level of constant exhaustion, but her night-time disruptions have knocked that off the scale.

I’m hoping that the Easter break will help me get back on track and give me a better April.

No Responses Yet to “March Review”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

